Remember your Roots…

Self Love Sunday and I’m taking time to honour the roots that I came from, my parents.

“The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life.” – Richard Bach

pa6‘The most important thing in life is your family. There are days you love them, days you don’t. But, in the end, they’re the people you always come home to. Sometimes its the family your born into and sometimes its the one you make for yourself.’ Sex and the City.

Today is my Mothers birthday, and Fathers day, so what better self love sunday action then taking some time to respect, appreciate and honour the very essence of my being. The people who have made me who I am today, who have created this life I live.

Parents; two people who have individually created the unique gift that is your life.

Sometimes we love them, sometimes, not so much. Although every word, gesture and thought from a parent to a child is an attempt to direct you to live a good life, patience is often tested and quality time often neglected.

Parents are our teachers, from our first breath of air, they teach us the morals they believe in, they teach us to believe in ourselves. They teach us love.

Reflecting on my childhood, its taken me a long time to reflect back with love, fondness and also laughter.

I was a terrible child. I was embarrassed by my Mum and her hippy ways (growing plants, markets etc, ironically funny how now I am following in her footsteps when I fought it for so long), she was so different.

I believe most children go through the cycle of depending (0-10), teenage rebellion (11-19), indifference (20-25), and then respect and appreciation (25+). This is the stage I am now in, where I appreciate every little thing my parents have ever given me or shown me, for every little experience I was luckily enough to enjoy.

pa4

But mostly, even now at 29 years old, I am thankful for the opportunity to be able to pick up the phone, or visit my parents when I feel like returning ‘home’. Home truly is where the heart is, and for me that is my parents love, anywhere that they are.

Life gets busy, and there really is no feeling that can compare to the safety of your parents. Knowing that they are there. Your support system. To return to anytime you like to reinstall your faith and motivation for life, because let’s be honest, life is not always easy. Life and people are constantly testing, trying and disappointing. It’s through these tribulations that our strength is built, but sometimes its just nice to know there is always a shoulder to lean on, someone to listen, and someone who will love you no matter what mistakes you might make. Yes, that is the feeling of unconditional love, safety.

Blessed.

Today, I’m taking time to honour my parents, to let them know that I am thankful for every single little thing that they have done for me, from the smacks, to the groundings to the ‘i love you’s’, for every single moment of my life that they have always been there.

It is never to late. Family is all that we have in this life . The same DNA, the same blood through our veins, same same but different.

Build strength in your family.

For me, its listening, making time. Laughing and listening when my mum fills me with her stories about her garage sale finds, the flowers she gave to a neighbour, the colourful dress she wore that day to make the world a happier place (so cute!).

pa2

I havent yet experienced the joy of giving life, however when I think about it; if im ready? when will I be ready? Will I make a good mother? I think of what it would take to be a good parent, a good mother, and I have to be honest, the thoughts can be overwhelming, being responsible for another little being. Holding their life in your hands. For me, I know when the time is right it will happen. I always had the typical female  ’30’ deadline; husband, house, child. Now, I know you cannot put a deadline on these things. I also know I was never ready, Its taken me 29 years to finally build self-love, respect for my own parents and start to become the person I believe I am meant to be.

‘Let us make one point, that we meet each other with a smile, even when it is difficult t smile. Smile at each other, make time for each other in your family’. Mother Theresa

Whether you are a mother, a father, a son or a daughter, take a moment to tell your parents you love them. Thank them.

sr6

‘We never know the love of a parent till we become parents ourselves’. Henry Ward Beecher

Let whatever resentment go. Perhaps you didn’t get to go to after school activities because your parents had to work (I would always start a sports season but never got to finish it), perhaps you didn’t get the latest fashion, perhaps you didn’t have a good upbringing. Let it go. Release resentment and allow love and gratitude into your heart, for they have done the best that they could with what they had, and now you are you. And you are capable of being a better person, every single day. Filling your life with love.

The best thing, they put up with you and still love you! (Huge thank you to my parents for always loving me, through EVERY little and big thing I have put them through).

“It is time for parents to teach young people early on that in diversity there is beauty and there is strength.” Maya Angelou

So, take a moment, remember your roots, look back and be grateful, perhaps laugh at moments of idiotic behaviour, stupidity or general naughtiness, but look back with love.

Every day, I am trying to live a life of wellness so my parents can feel a sense of pride.

Happy Birthday Mum, I love you.

Happy Fathers Day Dad, I love you.

Love & light, Charlie x.

 

pa5

 

Leave a comment