Help other people…

From the quote by Zig Ziglar;You will get all you want in life if you help enough other people get what they want.

bk3

I’ve been finding this a true and relevant quote in my constant desire to be more. I’ve found that sometimes I need to remind myself of this quote when I feel that I give too much or I feel some people take too much (we all have givers and takers in our lives).

In a world that is becoming self obsessed and time poor, I find we often misvalue the small things; giving attention where needed, listening with open ears, giving with an open heart, being kind. We are living in an era where more is better, the latest and greatest material objects classify our social status and our sense of security.

When was the last time you gave to someone else, a friend, a relative or a stranger without expecting anything in turn? Be honest? My experience is that most people are happy to give, but also in turn expect to receive.

 “The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

I’ve contemplated what it is that holds me backs sometimes from being truly giving, offering advice where it’s needed, help or suggestions, is it the fear of  being left behind myself? That in turn helping someone else will help them achieve the greatness I am dream of?

What comes around, truly does go around. Believe in karma.

I have been practising openness and kindness as my daily ‘to dos’, and speaking from my personal experience, what comes around does go all the way back around, what effort you put in, determines the results you get out.

When you give with no expectations, you will be sending an open invitation to the universe to give back to you. It works. Try it, trust it.

 “No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.” Charles Dickens

Help other people. Without expecting them to in turn help you, simply out of goodwill and you will reap the rewards. Believe, have faith. It’s the small things that we can all do to truly make the world a better place.

tw3

Think of the last time someone was kind to you, did you feel warmth within your heart? Smile? Did you in fact then pass that kindness on (I do recommend you try to), imagine how far these small acts of kindness can go…

Share a smile. (Some people may think you are a little crazy), just do it. Instead of walking around getting your life done with a frown, or serious look, turn the little corners of your mouth upwards (funny, but yes it works; Balinese mediation is to sit and smile with your face and with your heart) Act how you want to feel.

bk1

In fact, I’ve worked for many company’s dealing with customers over the phone, one of my greatest training tips is to put a mirror on your desk, so when you are on the phone, you smile…it makes a difference, no perhaps it cannot be seen, but it can be felt, by your tone, and you will find it difficult to keep those grumpy pants on.

From the Dalai Lama; ‘there are a number of qualities which I think are important for mental peace, but from the little experience I have, I believe that one of the most important factors is human compassion and affection, a sense of caring.

Show a little compassion. Not just to those you love, to everyone.

bk4

“The best way to not feel hopeless is to get up and do something. Don’t wait for good things to happen to you. If you go out and make some good things happen, you will fill the world with hope, you will fill yourself with hope.” Barack Obama

Today, exercise your love muscle and help somebody in need (remember its the small things that matter).

“There is no exercise better for the heart than reaching down and lifting people up.” John Holmes

I’m going to make sure that every single person in my world knows that I care, that I will always be there/here for them whenever and anytime they need.

Love & light, Charlie x.

bk2

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Week of WordPress – Compassion | Enhance The Human Experience

Leave a Reply

