Monday Motivation… Kate Russell {Lululemon}

Its important we surround ourselves with people who inspire us. But to also remember that these people are real…chasing their dreams, following their passions {beating their own trials & tribulations}.

‘Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible.’ Dalai Lama

This is why I believe its important to share love & support, lets celebrate the good things in life, the simple things like kindness.

Kate1

Introducing Kate Russell, Regional community manager, Eastern Australia and New Zealand lululemon athletica, and one of the kindest people you will meet. 

Charlie: You have created a successful career within a leading fitness wear brand, Lululemon, what do you attribute this success to?

For me, passion drives success. I believe in creating the life you want to lead, regularly stepping out of your comfort zone to open up new opportunities.

On a daily basis, I’m lucky enough to coach teams to develop and execute events, build and connect relationships, discover the coolest events, places and people around, all in between a yoga or fitness class.

‘Be kind, dont judge and have respect for others. If we can all do this, the world would be a better place. The point is to teach this to the next generation.’ Jasmine Guinness.


k2
 

Charlie: When did you decide to you wanted to be involved in the wellness industry?

I worked in technology and corporate PR (public relations) for six years and loved it. The adrenaline and ever changing nature of the PR world drove me, along with being surrounded by smart team members every day. However whilst I was immersed daily in a world of technology and business, it didn’t come naturally and I realised I was beginning to resent it.

In my spare time, I would read wellness blogs and constantly update my bucket list of things I wanted to achieve (most of which were fitness related!). It was no shock I loved leading a life full of fitness and health. I had a eureka moment one day and thought, imagine if I could combine my love of fitness with building relationships, connecting people and working with like-minded people? And from that moment, the job with lululemon was born.

It is crazy how when you put something out there, channel your positive energy to it, you can reach that goal (or in my case, my dream job).

Charlie: What inspired you to follow your passion?

There were two defining moments for me. The first one was after I was asked to write a blog for a close friend about my journey on training for a half marathon. My manager at the time read it and told me that I inspired her to focus on a goal and then go after it….hard! The second eureka moment was during a brainstorm in my old agency when we had to come up with three words to describe the person sitting next to you. My colleague described me as “enthusiastic, motivational and inspiring”. Those moments made me really think hard about finding a career where I could blend my strengths with my passion.

Charlie: How do you feel as an inspirational figure/mentor?

I actually don’t see myself as being inspirational but if I’m to put a label on it, I guess I hope to see myself as more of an enabler – full of energy and a drive to create a life (work and personal) that I look forward to living. I try and pass that onto those around me. Nothing makes me happier than spending time with someone to work out what they want out of life and giving them the passion and enthusiasm to then go and get it.

Charlie: Has there been any challenges along your journey?

Absolutely. You can’t grow without falling down along the way. However it is how you pick yourself up and keep going that either makes or breaks you.

Charlie: How do you maintain balance between your Career and personal health?

I love this question because I always wanted to have a “job” that was doing what I loved every day, so therefore wasn’t really a job!  And this role at lululemon is absolutely that. I get to work out every day, trying new personal training and yoga studios around Sydney and connecting with driven people who love what they do.

I do also have a great friends around me that remind me when to ‘switch off’ because when you blend what you love with your job, it can be hard. Whether it’s going for a walk with a girlfriend to having lunch and a few glasses of wines, this balance is what keeps me grounded and successful at what I do.

k5

Charlie: What do you believe are the keys to success in business?

Identify your strengths and work out how you can use them every day; Network and create relationships with people who will grow and inspire you and then write a game plan of how you will reach that goal.

Also focus on attracting motivated people to create a culture that breeds success. Provide foundations for employees to build their skills, shape their career and essentially move from being good to being amazing.

‘A dream doesnt become reality through magic; it takes sweat, determination and hard work’ Collin Powell.

Charlie: What is your advice for anyone who has a dream?

Write that dream/goal/ career down. And then write down three steps on how you can achieve that (i.e. whether it’s saving $X per week or attend one new working event per month). Once it is down on paper, your mind will unconsciously start creating the path to reach that dream.

‘Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.’ Harriet Tubman

Charlie: What can we look forward to next from you?

k1

2014 is about taking myself on. Backing myself and taking risks. Getting even more out of my comfort zone.

It is an exciting year for lululemon and I’m ecstatic to be part of driving the company’s vision and brand in Australia and NZ. You will continue to see great technical athletic pieces for both women and men and innovative pieces that will help take you to and from your yoga and gym class.

Charlie: Top 3 healthy tips/advice?

  1. Be kind to your body; you only have one!
  2. Avoid classifying foods as “good” and bad”. Because the rebellion in us will always make us want the “bad” foods at some point
  3. Sweat every day; whether it is yoga or a HIIT session, get your body moving. Everyone loves that sweaty glow

I sincerly thank Kate for her time.

Follow Kate on Insta @katearussell

Ive been asked a lot lately about my story, how I found my own happiness.

Just a reminder…everything that I have learnt, what I have been through & how I changed my life is available in my book ‘Live a life you Love’.

Buy Now Button

 

Love & light, Charlie x.bookig

Leave a Reply

